A story about plugins, plugin views, and linking

Hi all

For several days I tried to build a plugin package, but I am hanging at certain points. It could be that I am completely misunderstanding the concepts as I am quite new to Neos. My gut however says that the plugin and plugin-views parts are missing a few key parts to really be usable in real-world cases. After a quick talk with Christian Müller, and a few responses of “I don’t really use that part of Neos”, I decided to write up a little story to share my point of view. Maybe it aids in future development of Neos, maybe not.

Quick overview

• A group of editors manage certain event data on a thid-party system.
  • Data from said third-party system should be displayed in various forms in Neos, configurable through the editor
  • Data only comes from the third-party system, there is no data manipulation inside Neos

What would Hans do?

Let’s name him Hans. Hans sets up a page “Events” and puts a plugin node on it that acts as overview (list, filtering, etc) and detail view for events.

Hans knows that a lot of people coming to their location like hiking trips, that’s why they organize guided hikes around the location. This is why Hans puts up another page, “Activities / Hiking” and fills it with information about the area, and about their guided hikes. “What would a page visitor expect on this page?”, Hans thinks. That’s why he wants to put an events teaser on this hiking page which lists the next five guided hikes. The same steps are repeated for other activity pages. Of course, the teaser entries properly link to the main events page’s show action.

The developer’s point of view.

The “Plugin views” approach.

Coming from TYPO3 CMS, setting up a flow package was nothing special. I spun up an EventsController with a teaserAction(), indexAction(), and showAction(), injected the EventRepository, set up templates, and that’s it… except for the rocks that are standing in my way.