Functional Testing Frontend-Login

Hi there…

I’m new to Unit-Testing and want to test if the frontend-login of my FLOW Application is working. Assuming this is more a functional test, I started to think about the requirements of testing such a case. Creating a new user in the database, log in, check response, log out, delete user, etc.
Unfortunately the Testing-Section of the documentation is not written (https://flowframework.readthedocs.io/en/stable/TheDefinitiveGuide/PartIII/Testing.html).
Can someone help me out with the more FLOW-related stuff? I’m pretty sure, there are some predefined classes and tools inside FLOW wich makes things easier.

Common questions so far…

• Different database for functional testing?
  • How to make a request?
  • How to check the response?

Any kind of help welcome (youtube-links, doc-links). I’m not shy to read and watch. :wink:

Thanks in advance.

Hey! Glad you want to take a look into testing your application. Unfortunately, testing is (IMO) one of the least documented and/or polished things in the whole framework, but here are a couple of things you can do to get into the topic:

• Always extend the FunctionalTestCase or UnitTestCase classes for your test case classes, they come with convenience helper methods for Flow
  • In Testing context, flow will by default work with an SQLite in-memory backend for persistence (as specified in Flow Testing Configuration Settings.yaml)
  • You can make requests in Testing via the Browser client Neos\Flow\Http\Client\Browser. In FunctionalTestCase this is already instanciated as $this->browser
  • The response you receive from the browser is a normal Flow Http Response which you can inspect for status code, return body and headers.