Neos backend performance

Hi everyone,

I have created a NEOS website for my sports club, the hoster is Mittwald (Webhosting XL). I’m not a professional web developer and this is my first NEOS project so far. The frontend of the website works very fast, but we have problems using the backend: It’s very slow.

I have optimized my CSS and JavaScript Resources, but it didn’t have any effect.
Now I’m asking you guys for help. Is there a way to make the backend faster by changing the NEOS configuration? To answer the potential questions: I’m in production mode. NEOS Verison: 2.1.2

Thank you for your help and best regards
DanielOliver

Hi Daniel and congratulation for your first website. Sad that you have performance issues.

Neos 2.1.x is near end of life and receive on security fixes for a little bit less than one month (based on the official roadmap https://www.neos.io/download-and-extend/release-process.html), so first advice please upgrade to a more recent version. 2.3 LTS can be a good option if need to support old version of PHP (5.6), but if you have access to PHP 7.0/7.1, go with Neos 3.2 that we recently release.

In normal condition the backend should not be slow, or fast enough to work with. We need more information about your site to help you. Did you have really long page, with a lots of content node (a lots, like 10, 50, 200 … node in the same page) ? A really huge amount of node in a single page can cause some performance problem.

Hi @dfeyer, thank you for your reply.
You are right, there is a correlation between performance and the number of nodes. We have a lot of nested nodes, for example column in column with text or picture.
This site is a good example, Opening it in the backend takes over 1 minute:
http://tsv-schnait.net/aktuelles/akt-infos.html

Is this a wrong approach? Is there a way I could structure this page better so it loads faster?