NEOS breaks CERTBOT SSL renewal

OK, I am new to NEOS… installed fine, using existing https domain.

Now it’s time to renew the expiring SSL certificate, but the certbot renewal FAILS because NEOS is intercepting the call to the ( supposedly hidden) /var/www/html/Neos/Web/.well-known/ folder - and serving up its 404 page there!!

How can I configure NEOS not to serve 404 for that folder ( so that CERTBOT can use it for its http challenge mechanism??)

Thanks In Advance!

Hey, weclome to the community!

You can tell your webserver to ignore that folder for redirecting to the index.php.
On apache, the following line needs to be changed in Web/.htaccess:

RewriteRule ^(_Resources/Packages/|robots\.txt|favicon\.ico) - [L]

->

RewriteRule ^(_Resources/Packages/|\.well-known/|robots\.txt|favicon\.ico) - [L]

This is important enough, that it warrants a PR to fix this:

1 Like

Thanks for the quick reply!

that sort-of fixes it… I do not get the Neos 404 page any more causing havoc with CERTBOT. :white_check_mark:

For reasons unknown ( something misconfigured up stream, I guess) I still get CERTBOT renew failure, but the page that is interfering is now the root of another website ( the one whose /var/www/html/ folder my Neos installation is actually a sub-folder of). I have other working webs with the same situation (subfolders of /var/www/html/) - that do not show this problem with certbot…

PS, and oddly, I can actually surf to the certbot-required [web-redacted] /.well-known/acme-challenge/ folder without being redirected to the other web…

/var/www/html/ folder my Neos installation is actually a sub-folder of

I assume that folder above is a web docroot for another domain (or the default)?