Neos install problems Debian 12 PHP 8.2

I’m trying to test Neos as an alternative to wordpress for a project, but can’t even get it to install. I’m a total Neos noob, but do have a lot of debian experience.

Any pointers to solutions or better install howtos would be very wellcome.

Followed the setup instructions from
https://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-install-neos-cms-on-debian-11/
but with Debian 12 and PHP 8.2

All goes well until executing composer install in /var/www/neos/

nonroot@leia:/var/www/neos$ composer install
PHP Warning: Module “curl” is already loaded in Unknown on line 0
No composer.lock file present. Updating dependencies to latest instead of installing from lock file. See Basic usage - Composer for more information.
Loading composer repositories with package information
Updating dependencies
Your requirements could not be resolved to an installable set of packages.

Problem 1
- Root composer.json requires neos/setup ^6.0 → satisfiable by neos/setup[6.0.0].
- phpunit/phpunit[9.0.0, …, 9.2.6] require php ^7.3 → your php version (8.2.12) does not satisfy that requirement.
- phpunit/phpunit[9.3.0, …, 9.6.13] require ext-mbstring * → satisfiable by symfony/polyfill-mbstring[v1.0.0, …, v1.28.0].
- Conclusion: don’t install symfony/polyfill-mbstring v1.28.0 (conflict analysis result)
- Root composer.json requires phpunit/phpunit ^9.0 → satisfiable by phpunit/phpunit[9.0.0, …, 9.6.13].

To enable extensions, verify that they are enabled in your .ini files:
- /etc/php/8.2/cli/php.ini
- /etc/php/8.2/cli/conf.d/10-opcache.ini
- /etc/php/8.2/cli/conf.d/10-pdo.ini
- /etc/php/8.2/cli/conf.d/15-xml.ini
- /etc/php/8.2/cli/conf.d/20-calendar.ini
- /etc/php/8.2/cli/conf.d/20-ctype.ini
- /etc/php/8.2/cli/conf.d/20-curl.ini
- /etc/php/8.2/cli/conf.d/20-dom.ini
- /etc/php/8.2/cli/conf.d/20-exif.ini
- /etc/php/8.2/cli/conf.d/20-ffi.ini
- /etc/php/8.2/cli/conf.d/20-fileinfo.ini
- /etc/php/8.2/cli/conf.d/20-ftp.ini
- /etc/php/8.2/cli/conf.d/20-gettext.ini