Newbie here, who knows nothing about Neos

Hi @ll
Im really a newbie, and know nothing about Neos but I was inquisitive as I saw a Meetup in Bern about Neos and had a look at a few sites created by Neos. So here I am wanting and willing to learn. My machine is using Windows 10. I asked on the Meetup whether I need good knowledge of PHP and they said no: though I have a good grips of PHP I was a bit overwhelmed when I read that I need a Webserver. This is the reply I got
You can find a lot of ressources at http://neos.io­. And no, you don’t need to know php or js, although it’s is good if you have some knowledge about creating and building websites.

Ok I am familiar with js and have created and built a few websites either by coding or using drupal or wordpress.
My question as a newbie, do I have to install a webserver on my machine?
Thank you for your help and if this question have been asked already Im really sorry for being rude and asking things which have been asked already.
Best Newbie who promises to be better with the time.

Hey I am relatively new to Neos just like you, these resources really helped me in getting started with Neos.

To answer your question though, you don’t need a webserver installed if you have access to a remote server otherwise I think you do.

Hey, I’m quite new in Neos as well.

I guess, you don’t have, but I would recommend it. Because:

• In Neos, you have all the liberties to do things like you wish. But you have to do it - most of the time - on your own. No «one-click» and it is done.
    For simple solution there are not many things to do.
    But I guess, most of the time claims will rise. Then you have to write small peace of code in typoscript-file, yaml and html-fluid template. This is more fast and easy with your own local server.